Lesson 1: Stop being a little bitch

This is one of the phrases that one my best friends has told me repeatedly,
and it has proven one of the greatest phrases of them all.

The context of this particular conversation took place when I was feeling intimidated and aggravated at one point in my life and wanted to quit a job, but all I did was complain instead of just doing it. Admittedly, I was a little… No, I was massively taken aback the first time she said that to me… in my mind I was all like:

However, the more I thought about it, the more I realised how much it applies to everyday life. Being a little bitch doesn’t just apply to people who are spiteful and unpleasant – it also applies to those who dedicate a substantial patch of their life to telling others how much they don’t want to do things. Admittedly, I still do this occasionally… If fact, I’m sure I do it more often then I’d care to admit. Okay, scratch that. I still do complain quite a bit. The massive change is that I recognise when I’m acting like a little bitch and I try to put that energy into… well, not being a little bitch.

Bear with me on this, but this will have relevance in a second. What another wise person once told me was how anger is essentially passion that fuels proactivity in life. This doesn’t mean be angry and punch everyone in your path, it means that during an in depth conversation where a polarity of opinions occurs, you have a right to voice your opinion and open another person’s mind. So, you can either feel angry and crappy whilst not doing anything about it, or you can do things like go to gay-marriage rallies or get into some heated but mind-opening debate instead of just not doing anything about… anything.

Similarly to this, the fuel for our inactivity when it comes to school work in high-school, university assignments, cleaning your room or even getting back into a hobby – is the fuel and time that we use to bitch about not doing these things. Up until a week or two ago, I was on struggle street with assessments, work and my social life. In fact, there were many times I would want to break down and cry, complaining that I want to quit uni because it was too much for my little heart.

Where this all changed was when I actually started doing something useful other than complaining. What I realised was that complaining about not wanting to do stuff is like ripping off a band-aid. The pre-cursor leading up to the ripping of the band-aid is sooo much worse than it actually is. Being a university student and freshly finishing VCE, this mainly applies to doing assignments or studying for assessments. The quicker you just get into it, the quicker it’ll be over, and the faster you can move on with your life. So instead of slowly peeling off the band-aid and getting distracted by Facebook, Tumblr and Youtube, just rip it off all at once and you won’t have to feel that sensation of pain every time you go back to it.

Sure, it’ll still be sufficiently unpleasant and the greatest annoyance in your life, but the more you think about it, the more prolonged your agony will be. Whereas, if you just rip it off and get it over and done with, then you will feel a gaping load of relief.

So, let me break it down for you crazy kids:

Step 1: Problem recognition
(e.g. Uni work)

Step 2: Have a bit of a bitch about it, go cry a bit in a corner, demolish a tub of Ben&Jerry’s and 50 packets of Tim-tams if you must
(e.g. “I DON’T WANT TO DO IT. UNI ASSIGNMENTS SUCK MASSIVE BUTTHOLES. WAHHHHH.”)

Step 3: Stop being a little bitch and get yo’ shit together, son. 
(e.g. This is where you’re actually doing the damned thing without complaining about not wanting to do it)

Step 4: Repeat from Step 1

NOTE: Please feel free to skip Step 2 or combine Step 2&3 to get the most out of life.

You’re welcome.

Kylie out. x

Leave a Reply

