The Tango of Equality & Convenient Labels

This was actually drafted a few weeks ago, so it may seem like a bit outdated, but I only just decided to post it… well, now:

It has recently come to my attention how much shit Miley Cyrus is still getting for appearing like a deranged cow on the VMAs.
Then there was something about a letter from Sinead O’Connor, then something about feminism yada, yada, yada.

ImageImage

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a strong advocate for equality and all those serious matters… but I feel like people are starting to spout all this nonsensical bullshit and then deciding to throw a label on it calling it ‘female empowerment’ as if to detract from their own douchebag-gery. I feel like what is happening at this very day and age in such a westernised society is that we’re doing some sort of ‘Tango of Equality’.

We take one step forward from the previous generations and we gain respect as females. Gone are the days when women are believed to have this innate mysterious attachment to this thing called a… What is it called… A kitchen…?
We’re given choices, rights and we no longer need to sit in the backseat of society. Sure, there’s still a fair way to go, but people fail to see how much of a patriarchal society we no longer live in. For those people who live under a rock, we aren’t in a society where we must bend to the every whim and woe of men as if our lives depended on it.

However… We then take two steps back after coming so far. I mean, if you’ve got sex appeal and you feel completely and unadulteratedly in love with your body, then flaunt it… In a way that is acceptable in public. The badly coordinated PR stunts that are being pulled to throw Miley into the limelight are not what I would classify as acceptable… And it’s not exactly doing much good for our fight for greater equality. I mean, I felt like I had to eat a bar of soap after watching her VMA performance and even seeing screenshots of her Wrecking Ball MV just to feel a little cleaner.

It’s perfectly, 100% fine for Miley to want to change her image of an innocent, Disney child star into a sexy, fun-loving young adult… But, is she really commanding the respect of everyone around her? F@$k no. Pardon my French, but seriously, she continually tries to defend her actions or passing her behaviour off as some form of female empowerment… But all I’m seeing are heaps of naked photos, tongue-sticking-out photos, inappropriate sexualised carvings of jack-o-lanterns and all that stuff I don’t really want to see. I mean, shit, if you want to be empowering, that is bloody awesome. However, if one moment you act like a role model and the next you’re gyrating on a married man on a public stage… Then, I don’t really see the empowerment in that.
(Note: Okay, so I’m aware that the ‘man behind the booty’ has just as much fault in this whole shabang, and I would love to further my rant, but I’ll probably go off topic… So, we’ll save that for another time. )

This brings me to the ‘Wrecking Ball’ music video. Oh, dear lord, throw some clothes on. I understand how there may be the tiniest, most minuscular amount of symbolism behind her nakedness depicting vulnerability (as she explained in an interview)… Except for the fact her hair and make-up is all immaculately styled… Her skin is flawless… And the fact that she’s licking a hammer. Maybe I’m getting a little critical, but there are much more refined and beautiful ways of symbolically representing vulnerability without having to get naked and sit on a massive ball. My aim here isn’t to attack her, but just merely demonstrate that you can’t carelessly pass off inappropriate antics as meaningful symbolism.

For all those wondering if I dislike her… No way. I don’t know her, or all the things she’s been through. Me disliking her makes about as much sense as me hearing about a movie for the first time and saying I hate it. It makes about as much sense as boiling a potato without water. IT MAKES NO SENSE. I just feel that getting naked then screaming, “I AM FEMALE EMPOWERMENT… EMBRACE ME, WORLD.” doesn’t send across a clear cut message of equality… It’ll probably just land you in jail for public indecency and a whole lot of people losing respect for you and potentially other females.

I guess what I’m trying to focus on is that, yes, it’s fine if you want to be naked and sit on massive wrecking balls.  It’s also fine if you want to change the image that you have because that’s what you want to do. It’s also flippin’ fantastic if you hope to be a role model to be all the little people of the world. However, what is not okay is when artists and public figures make abominable claims about doing it to ’empower’ and to fight for ‘freedom’ and ‘equality’ when all they are doing is just being wildly inappropriate and shaming the human race. If you aim to empower, do it with grace, dignity and in a way that commands respect. You can’t empower if you’re advocating the very thing you appear to be opposing through your behaviour.

Oh, and I realised I went off on a bit of a tangent, but this is essentially my perspective on how little misdoings like this don’t really advocate for gender equality. Although I predominantly focused on females, this applies to males as well (just go back to the beginning of the post, substitute in ‘male’ for ‘female’ and put it into context that makes logical sense…. and tada, you have yourself the other perspective).
Careless behaviour of people, not just celebrities, can put females and males to shame and give reasons for society to not be able to take the respective genders very seriously.

2 thoughts on “The Tango of Equality & Convenient Labels

  1. Though it is clear that Miley Cyrus and feminism are products of Evil MNE’s and our degenerate western culture. it is a bold claim to believe that the fault rest in anyone but the United States government for endorsing such behavior through incentives such as tax cuts and subsidies.

    The clear villain of the story is Washington and its lack of moral integrity in the pursuit of d̶a̶t̶ ̶j̶u̶i̶c̶y̶ ̶p̶u̶s̶sy̶ ̶y̶o̶ ̶d̶r̶i̶p̶p̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶s̶o̶ ̶w̶e̶t̶ the all mighty dollar. Women around the world are put to shame.

    The only way to defeat imperialistic dogs of the Eastern states is to fight fire with fire.

    Being a Political Science Major at RMIT, I believe that for women to attain the Matriarchal dominance they seek men must be subjected to constant torment and suffering through ‘Bitching’.

    What are your thoughts?

    Amanda Tan

    • Hi Amanda, thanks for commenting.

      My values have never been greatly aligned with the preferment of a Matriarchal system, just as it has never had any condonation for the Patriarchal system that has plagued our histories before.

      That being said, I must say that I’m quite simplistic, bordering on naïve, when it comes to my views on this type of issue. All I truly wish for is a society where there is no discrimination towards gender, race or sexuality.

Leave a Reply

